Short Stay Scholarships for Young Researchers from Sub-Saharan Africa, 2018

Scholarships: Coimbra Group is currently accepting applications for Short Stay Scholarship Programme for young researchers from Sub-Saharan Africa. All African countries except Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, and Tunisia (applicants from these countries are eligible under the Scholarship Programme for Young Researchers from the European Neighborhood).

Host College/University: The Coimbra Group Scholarship Programme for young African researchers aims to enable scholars to undertake research for a short research period (generally 1 to maximum 3 months) in which they are engaged in their home institution, at a selected Coimbra Group university, and to help them establish academic and research contacts.

Founded in 1985 and formally constituted by Charter in 1987, the Coimbra Group is an association of long-established European comprehensive, multidisciplinary research universities of high international standard committed to creating special academic and cultural ties in order to promote, for the benefit of its members, internationalization, and academic collaboration, excellence in learning and research, and service to society.

Degree level: This is Short stay/research, PhD scholarship programme.

Field of Study: Scholarship is awarded in all the subjects offered.

Scholarship Award:

  • Duration of visit: Minimum and maximum 1 month per scholarship
  • Field: All available fields (at PhD or postdoc level)
  • Available facilities: Assistance in finding accommodation, access to university facilities (computer, libraries, canteens, etc.), visa service (if required)
  • Financial support: A grant of 1190,- EUR/month will be given to cover accommodation, food and local expenses
  • Insurance: Health insurance for the duration of the stay can be provided by the University (about €40,- per month)
  • Travel costs: reimbursement up to €1250,-

Nationalities: Sub-Saharan African students. 

Sub-Saharan African students (Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Brazzaville), Congo (Democratic Republic), Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe) are eligible to apply for this scholarship.

Scholarship can be taken in the following Coimbra Group universities are participating in the 2018 edition of the scheme:

University of Barcelona (Spain), Eötvös Loránd University Budapest (Hungary), University of Coimbra (Portugal), University of Granada (Spain), University of Graz (Austria), University of Groningen (The Netherlands), KU Leuven (Belgium), University of Padova (Italy), University of Pavia (Italy), University of Poitiers (France), University of Salamanca (Spain), University of Würzburg (Germany).

Eligibility Criteria: The scheme is intended for young academics (normally those under the age of 45). Applicants should nationals of and current residents in a country in Sub-Saharan Africa. Be current staff members of a university or an equivalent higher education institution in Sub-Saharan Africa, and, in most cases, should be of doctoral/postdoctoral or equivalent status.

English Language Requirements: Applicants whose first language is not English are usually required to provide evidence of proficiency in English at the higher level required by the University.

Applying procedure Instructions: Applicants must fill in the online application form on the website of the Coimbra group

When selection has been agreed, the host university may send a letter of invitation directly to the successful candidate. The Coimbra Group Office will contact candidates who are not successful in obtaining a place under the scheme. Successful candidates who are currently employed by a University are responsible for ensuring that their home institution will grant them leave of absence to undertake the proposed visit.  

Scholarships Official Web Links:

Online Application: ◄–

Scholarship Link: ◄–

Scholarship Deadline: March 16, 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *